Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 95 posts
  • 24 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 7 years ago by blondetall
  • Topic is favorited by 2 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

trainwreck (resized).jpg
    zipper1 (resized).jpg

This topic is closed.

There are 95 posts in this topic. You are on page 1 of 2.
    #1 7 years ago

So I was watching James May as the re-assembler on you tube (awesome show) and he said something really interesting, he started trowing all the bolts to an old push mower into a box. Well I was a mechanic and could always identify this while pulling down parts off a car and I'm sure most of you have recognized this with pins. Pinball machines are mostly designed with parts that will only fit one way and aren't interchangeable for the most part, keyed connectors, screw lengths, directional brackets and so on. He said the Japanese have a word for that and its Yuiitsu, but when I researched it it really doesn't fit the description (https://www.quora.com/Is-there-a-Japanese-word-for-it-only-fits-one-way) and its not an singular American word. Ok I'm a '79 baby and consider myself the last year for Gen-X, not trying to be a douche millennial lol but we need this word! All I can think of is Zipper? Remember it has to be American as pinball

zipper1 (resized).jpgzipper1 (resized).jpg

#2 7 years ago

The definition of this word will be "only fits one way" ~ Zippers all I got, and it fits lol.

#3 7 years ago

For connectors I guess that would be "keyed".

#4 7 years ago

Its got to encompass the whole shebang not just connectors but your right there, you know how you can take every screw out of a complicated pin and throw them all in a tumbler then each one only fits in a certain location...there's something zen about that and all the pins I've worked on have been like that with almost every part, like there's no guess work you know what I mean?

#6 7 years ago