New! Dark mode!

Browsing Pinside at night? Getting tired of all the white? Switch to dark mode using the button in the top right (or CTRL-B)!

(Topic ID: 141529)

Wax or clear, need some advice

By pinhead_jack

4 years ago

Topic Stats

• 9 posts
  • 4 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 4 years ago by ForceFlow
  • Topic is favorited by 3 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

#1 4 years ago

Hello all,

I have a Cleopatra that I have been fixing up and I am getting to a cross roads where I am not sure how to move forward in terms of the playfield. At his point I have touched up a few areas of paint where it had been warn down to the wood. I am not an artist but it looks ok. My next step is a good cleaning with Naptha and then...how to finish?

I am interested in clear coating it, spraymax2k seems like a good choice as I am only doing this one machine and I am new to pinball repair, but I live in Michigan and the weather is quickly turning cold. I will need to clear outside (I would build a PVC clearing tent) as the wife would kill me to have those chemicals applied in the garage (tent or not). I could instead apply a layer of carnuba wax?

This will just be a home machine played by family and friends, will the wax be protective enough? What is the right temperature for using SprayMax? Given my so-so artistic abilities is it better to just wax and enjoy and then down the road if I sell it someone else will have an easier time possibly finishing it better because they are not dealing with the clear?

I want a good looking and playing machine but I want to do each step correctly. If clear coating should not be done right now or if it is wrong for this type of machine I will skip it. I just love the glossy look, popping colors, and great finish I am seeing in the Spraymax threads.

I appreciate your advice!

#2 4 years ago

Personally, if the touch-ups aren't perfect, I wouldn't bother clear coating.

Wax it up and have fun.