Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 17 posts
  • 9 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 4 years ago by jabdoa
  • Topic is favorited by 7 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider topmoose.
    Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#9 4 years ago

I made my own game, just like you're describing. Here's the Forum topic where I chronicled my progress:

https://pinside.com/pinball/forum/topic/flash-retheme-project

A few recommendations:

1. It helps if you're either an artist, an experienced programmer or an electrical engineer (or know people who are who can help). I'm an artist (the least valuable of the three) and taught myself the other two.

2. Think through everything before you start. Visualize how you want your game to flow, what you want each playfield element to do and how the modes will work (if you're going for mode-based play). Make sketches and diagrams. Do you want ball saves? Multiball? Mode stacking? Think through how different features will interact with each other before you begin. Your questions in the initial post show that you have a great start on this.

3. Don't give yourself a deadline. Take things one problem at a time and give them the necessary attention before moving on. Also, don't give yourself a firm budget. My build ended up costing less than a Ghostbusters Pro, but I'm still glad I didn't cut corners.