You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

05F395E0-DB47-4BA5-AD36-AB6F68D464E0 (resized).jpeg
07557380-3537-4BF6-89AA-81B3C3F37AC6 (resized).jpeg
#1 6 years ago

Hi, all! I’m new to this, so thanks!

We just got a SST, and from the beginning the #4 super VUK only fires sometimes. Generally if it’s been off for an extended period of time it’ll fire during game play or in test mode, but after the machine has been on, it won’t consistently fire. It has continuity even when it’s not triggering, but I can’t understand why it fires sometimes and not others.

It does occasionally trigger an error on the display, for what that’s worth. I’ve poked around and reconnected everything to it, but am I correct in assuming that it’s probably the VUK assembly itself? Are these capable of overheating? Everything else works, including the switch near it.

07557380-3537-4BF6-89AA-81B3C3F37AC6 (resized).jpeg07557380-3537-4BF6-89AA-81B3C3F37AC6 (resized).jpeg

05F395E0-DB47-4BA5-AD36-AB6F68D464E0 (resized).jpeg05F395E0-DB47-4BA5-AD36-AB6F68D464E0 (resized).jpeg

#2 6 years ago

Did you check the PPB for bad solder joints?
Replace the switch at the VUK.
A bad switch can do funny things at the VUK.
The VUK registration goes in delay to let the ball settle.
Unlike other switches it does not register directly, but takes some time.
You can test this with let's say an outlane switch.
If you close it multiple times fast, you will see a timing difference between the VUK and the outlane.

#3 6 years ago

Thanks, Ink! The control board is new from Stern, but it was showing this same error even before it went in, so I’m guessing it’s not the board, if I understand correctly what that is. The switch which sees if there’s a ball ready to be kicked up is working as far as I can tell, and responds normally, but the VUK can’t even (reliably) be triggered independently.

Thanks much, and sorry if i’m not grasping everything yet.

#4 6 years ago

This is the PPB: