By loren3233

12 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

#1 12 years ago

Hello Everyone,

I have a somewhat goofball question for the group. I am currently rebuilding an IJ and am getting close to the point of cleaning the wiring harness (dishwasher method) and will put it back onto the playfield when playfield returns. My question is, do I need to solder all the joints back together or could I use electrical slide clips to connect all the wiring to the proper coils, switches, etc? I don't have much experience with solder so I figured it would be easier to go the other route. Bad idea/Good idea/Doesn't matter? Also, when washing the wiring harness in the dishwasher all switches need to be removed...correct? This is my first try on a rebuild and I don't want to screw things up too much.

Thanks for any ideas on this.

Loren

#2 12 years ago

Well to make the BEST connection, that is reliable, you will want to solder. If you don't know how, I would suggest some old electronic parts and just play around. See youtube for some quick tips or how to videos to get some good tips on best practice for soldering. Once you've done it a little, you will have no problems and its easy peasy.

I cannot comment on anything else, still don't own a pin yet! Good luck and I hope you get it all fixed up

#3 12 years ago

Youtube clips taught me everything I needed to know to get a job soldering. It took me a total of 10 minutes and I got promoted 3 times in a month at that job. Can't recommend doing that enough, I know I can easily solder anything due to some free clips and minor burns.

Just a tip: Don't instinctively grab for anything with your hands. That thing is HOT!

#4 12 years ago

Solder.

Coils and switches are usually pretty easy, you can loop the wire right into the coil/switch tabs for a nice "mechanical" connection before soldering. If no hole, then wrap it around the tab.