004awedge socket (resized).jpg
003awedge socket (resized).jpg
001awedge socket (resized).jpg
p4 (resized).jpg
p3 (resized).jpg
p2 (resized).jpg
p1 (resized).jpg

#1 6 years ago

I am new to pinball repair. Please go easy on me if I am missing something obvious. My newly restored (not by me) 1982 Bally Speakeasy came to me with some LED bulb color choices I didn’t like. So I ordered some new bulbs that I do like. All of the under playfield lighting is the wedge style 555 led replacement bulbs. I changed out 10 bulbs. I had no problem with 9 of them. However, one was difficult to put the new bulb in the socket. The previous bulb worked as it should. My new bulb will not light when I finally got it in the socket. I think I damaged the socket. I am attaching photos to show what the socket now looks like. Any help in solving this would really be appreciated.

What I have eliminated as the problem:
Bulb is good in other sockets
It isn’t the solder point of the main wire, I disconnected it, stripped the wire and wrapped it around the connector. I will resolver later.
The diode wire is working on the other lights connecting directly after the failing light.

p1 (resized).jpgp1 (resized).jpg

p2 (resized).jpgp2 (resized).jpg

p3 (resized).jpgp3 (resized).jpg

p4 (resized).jpgp4 (resized).jpg

#2 6 years ago

Looks like the contact may be spread and not making contact. Use your volt meter and check to make sure you have power. If you can't bend the contacts and you have power you can replace the socket.

#3 6 years ago

Like Travish says, you need to close the gap on the socket pincers. Not too much, though, or it'll be nigh impossible to get a lamp back in there.

001awedge socket (resized).jpg001awedge socket (resized).jpg

Make some continuity tests: From point A to point A, and B to point B should both emit continuity beep.

003awedge socket (resized).jpg003awedge socket (resized).jpg

Annnd is this wire soldered, or just wrapped?