(Topic ID: 233105)

Typical conditions of bar-cade games in your area.

By dangerranger96

5 years ago

Topic Stats

• 8 posts
  • 6 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 5 years ago by schudel5
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 5 years ago

I was at a local bar-cade tonight that I frequent, playing Elvira and the Party Monsters. The flippers were kind of weak and the bottom pop bumper wasn't firing. The last time I was there, I played Attack from Mars and Dialed In the left flipper on AFM could hardly make it to the UFO and the pitch on DI was so flat the ball almost sat still on the playfield. There are a few places in my area (not counting bars with a single poor machine in the corner that has been neglected since 1993) that have pins and it always seems like 50% of them are broke in some way. I'm fairly new to the hobby and I have not really visited too many other places to play. I know operating isn't easy and stuff breaks but I still want to know if this is the way it is in other places? Do I just accept the pins on location will be that way? I just find it hard to believe that these places host tournaments with these games in this shape. Just curious.

#2 5 years ago

You might have to expand your horizons beyond barcades. They make money on alcohol not pins. So pins are not a priority for all barcades. Some ops do keep their games up, and some don't.

LTG : )

#3 5 years ago

Really varries by location. There are a number of barcades in Denver with games in very good shape. There’s always going to be one that’s not working quite right (it’s pinball, they break as fast as you can fix them) but if you’re seeing 50% non-working, probably time to take your business elsewhere.

#4 5 years ago