IMG_1826.JPG
IMG_1822.JPG
IMG_1819.JPG
IMG_1821.JPG
IMG_1808.JPG
IMG_1781.JPG
IMG_1793.JPG

#1 9 years ago

I have restored many games, but this is my first time using purchased stencils. First of all Travis was very friendly and helpful in purchasing the stencils. I was very nervous is using these upon my first application. Once I got used to them it was fairly easy to do. You can see in the very first picture i got a crease, with my very first stencil, it never happened again. I basically found that doing them like a decal application was the easiest way to apply them. I would get them all lined up and and temporarily hold them in place with spring clamps. Peal the backing off the first foot or so and then squeegee out the first part while the clamps held the majority of the stencil in place. Then i would finish peeling the rest of the backing off while working squeegee back and forth until i got till the end. After the first one I got it down to were it was fairly simple process. I found that on the head, cutting exactly 1/2 inch off the inside of the stencil lined it up perfectly in the middle of the head. The stencils really held up well to my paint, and came off fairly easy as well.

The only problem I had was with the registration of the final color (red) in this case. I just trimmed where needed and covered up where needed. I found it easier to align if you held a big spotlight on the backside while i continually lifted the stencil up and down till I got it really close.