(Topic ID: 28652)

Tron incongruity - if you have a Tron you must see this ;)

By hassanchop

11 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 19 posts
  • 11 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 11 years ago by ENDOFLINE
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Screen_Shot_2012-10-25_at_12.25.14.png
    Screen_Shot_2012-10-25_at_12.23.25.png
    CLU-Light-Cycle-260x160.jpg
    tron-i2.gif
    tron_i1.jpg
    #1 11 years ago

Some of you already know, most of you don't, but my Tron arrived with the cabinet box slightly cracked. it doesn't affect gameplay, it is an easy fix that won't damage the art.
    Anyway i want to do a reproduction of the cabinet art for me for a few reasons: someday if i damage the cabinet, Stern doesn't sell them. I am pretty sure in a few long years i will do a restoration of the cabinet. i am a professional in photoshop, so i can "easily" reproduce the art. and the smaller reason is the quality of the print of the actual cabinet that is kinda low.

so for a few days i searched for the images with enough quality necessary to make the art.
    and then i noticed one thing, the cycle on the right side doesn't exist on the movie and it is completely different from the light cycles from the movie or other Tron licensed product. i am guessing it was taken from some concept art before the movie was made. it is very strange how Disney approved something like this to come out...
    here are pics to illustrate. notice the clear differences in design between the 2 cycles, as well as the type of 3D art used...
    i wrote the most obvious comments, and the art was closely examined by me before i could say this stuff.

as for me i will have to do this side of the machine with a cycle from the movie..

tron_i1.jpgtron_i1.jpg tron-i2.giftron-i2.gif

#2 11 years ago