You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG_20171203_142948191 (resized).jpg
IMG_20171203_142909140 (resized).jpg
IMG_20171203_142814430 (resized).jpg
#1 6 years ago

I picked up a Trident that I knew had some issues. After getting into it, I see some things that worry me. The power board is unplugged and it looks like one of the resistors is cracked. The MPU board has some crazy hack which makes me afraid to plug it in. Are either of these boards salvageable? What is going on with that MPU board? What would you suggest for how to go about turning this thing on for the first time? I'm not sure why the power board is unplugged but I'm sure it can't be good. Thanks for any advice you have, I'm a newbie to these early solid states. Cheers.

IMG_20171203_142814430 (resized).jpgIMG_20171203_142814430 (resized).jpg

IMG_20171203_142909140 (resized).jpgIMG_20171203_142909140 (resized).jpg

IMG_20171203_142948191 (resized).jpgIMG_20171203_142948191 (resized).jpg

#2 6 years ago

Without checking every wire is in the right place the Rectifier board looks fine just need to replace that resistor.

That MPU hack is the battery I think. If you removed it starting the game would be fine it just wouldn;t keep settings....but again that rectifier board needs a new resistor first

You can check the wires and more info here

http://pinwiki.com/wiki/index.php?title=Bally/Stern#Rectifier_Boards

Edit: the other red wire is probably just jumping through hole?

#3 6 years ago

It looks like the batteries were removed after they leaked and it was not cleaned up properly.

That "battery" replacement is the strangest.

Also, I can't tell if it is the angle, but it looks like disc capacitor C30 on the MPU is blown in half.

#4 6 years ago
Quoted from Taxman:

That "battery" replacement is the strangest.

Yeah they got it off the board at least... Kind of

#5 6 years ago