(Topic ID: 109771)

Tournament directors, what's your opinion on people leaving

By soren

4 years ago

Topic Stats

  • 44 posts
  • 20 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 4 years ago by bkerins
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider


Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

    You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider Excalabur.
    Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

    #25 4 years ago

    Coming from tournament organising in other games/sports:

    1. Never make it bad for a player to tell you he has to leave. He'll leave anyway, he just won't tell you. Super annoying.
    2. In elimination play, a player who has to leave loses their next match.
    3. In swiss rounds, or other arranged play, re-pair the round as if the player doesn't exist. They keep their match points/whatever, but they don't get any more as time goes on.
    4. In a cut-to-finals, if a player doesn't turn up have some rule in effect. Both variants are reasonable (add players until you have the right number/don't) but you should have it in the rules (as both IFPA and PAPA do per bkerins)
    5. If a player doesn't tell you they're leaving, feel free to be somewhat more punitive. However, their existing results should continue to exist from a tournament integrity point of view. If I beat you in the quarters and then leave, you don't get to play the semis: otherwise you can have post-match fixing and other Bad Things.
    6. Thankfully pinball doesn't have draws.

    #27 4 years ago
    Quoted from bkerins:

    Pinball does have draws, they're just really, really rare!

    Yakity yak.

    Compared to chess, or soccer, or many tabletop games (due to time constraints if nothing else) pinball doesn't have any draws.

    It's like (gridiron) football: yes, they happen. But you don't have to deal with it habitually.

    #38 4 years ago
    Quoted from bkerins:

    True, but rules must exist to handle draws. There has been at least one draw at the Pinburgh tournament each of the last four years.

    Of course, yes. As long as there's a theoretical chance of such a thing happening you have to have a rule for it. I believe the Olympics mints extra medals of various kinds for this eventuality: there was a tie to within the margin for error in one race, so two golds were awarded.

    Quoted from metallik:

    One ball/game tiebreaker?

    That being said, this slightly surprises me. Bkerins: why not just chop the point in half and move on? (Software?)

    Promoted items from the Pinside Marketplace
    $ 20.00
    Yorktown Parts and Equip
    $ 69.99
    Playfield - Toys/Add-ons
    Lighted Pinball Mods
    From: $ 75.00
    The Flipper Room
    From: $ 220.00
    Playfield - Toys/Add-ons
    CzTV Mods
    $ 10.00
    Playfield - Decals
    $ 64.00
    Lighting - Under Cabinet
    $ 149.00
    $ 495.00
    Cabinet - Armor And Blades
    MI Pinball Refinery
    $ 289.00
    $ 25.00
    Apparel - Unisex
    The Flipper Room
    $ 48.00
    Cabinet - Other
    ModFather Pinball Mods
    From: $ 42.00
    Cabinet - Shooter Rods
    ModFather Pinball Mods
    $ 2.50
    Playfield - Decals
    Doc's Pinball Shop
    $ 14.95
    $ 249.00
    Lighting - Led
    $ 30.99
    Lighting - Interactive
    Lee's Parts
    $ 79.95
    Playfield - Toys/Add-ons
    $ 149.99
    Playfield - Toys/Add-ons
    Lighted Pinball Mods
    $ 39.00
    Playfield - Toys/Add-ons
    The MOD Couple
    $ 128.00
    Playfield - Other
    ModFather Pinball Mods
    $ 29.50
    Playfield - Plastics
    Pinball Haus
    From: $ 9.99
    $ 26.95
    Playfield - Protection

    You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider Excalabur.
    Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

    Hey there! Got a moment?

    Great to see you're enjoying Pinside! Did you know Pinside is able to run thanks to donations from our visitors? Please donate to Pinside, support the site and get anext to your username to show for it! Donate to Pinside