• Latest reply 8 years ago by LilRocky
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Untitled-1.jpg
#1 8 years ago

I'm working on a TOTAN and have fixed up everything except for the lower power solenoids and flashers. Both do not fire in the game or in test mode. However, I can jump a ground to each transistor to make them manually fire. The fuses all check out fine and the high power solenoids are all working fine. And no hacks or missing components on the solenoid driver board. I'm new to these WPC-95 boards, so any ideas on what to check next?

#2 8 years ago

I'm not sure. Did you check the relays?
Sorry.

#3 8 years ago
Quoted from LilRocky:

so any ideas on what to check next?

Sounds like the data doesn't reach the PowerDriverBoard. First reseat ribbon cable between CPU- and PDBoard.

#4 8 years ago

When you say fuses check out, does that mean you took one side out and tested them?

If the above is in fact correct, look for the first solenoid in that circuit, there many be a broken wire there, not allowing the piggy back chain to move on.

#5 8 years ago
Quoted from zaza:

Sounds like the data doesn't reach the PowerDriverBoard. First reseat ribbon cable between CPU- and PDBoard.

I appreciate all the help responses.

Yeah, I'm definitely thinking the same here, where the MPU is not telling the PDB to fire. I tried re-seating everything from the ribbon cables to the ASIC chip. Still the exact same results.

As for the fuses and wiring, I'm assuming all this is good since I can manually jump these solenoids and flashers directly off the PDB and make them individually fire.

#6 8 years ago

You could do a continuity check between CPU U9 pin59 and PDB U6 pin 11.
This is the signal to enable SOL4 data transfer to Q41-48. I have no WPC95 to verify but this is from the manual.
If this tests ok, then an oscilloscope or logic probe would be very helpful.
Untitled-1.jpgUntitled-1.jpg

#7 8 years ago