Topic Stats

• 8 posts
  • 4 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 11 years ago by Skybug
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 11 years ago

Hi, I'm a TOTAL NOVICE and I opened up my '69 Bally machine for the first time yesterday. My left flipper is lagging behind when I press the button, and I noticed that the contacts seem "messy" in comparison to the right button contacts, which work like a charm when I press the flipper buttons; [open/close]. Also there are so many more pieces of metal contact strips on the left side; it's a much simpler layout on the right side; can I remove some of the metal, or maybe remove one of the spacers below so that they come into contact better? or perhaps I need a new set of metal strip contacts because one of them is bent & they may be worn out but I don't know what this kit is called if I order a replacement, can you tell me the tech name for these pieces? The flipper worked better when I tightened the screws, so I that seems to be the problem; but it's still not up to par.

Thanks for your help!

#2 11 years ago

Flipper button points.

POWER OFF. Be sure they are screwed down tight. With a point bender or small flat nosed pliers adjust them so they work better.

Some call them switches, they are leaf blade switches or points.

LTG

#3 11 years ago

Thanks LTG I will try that!

#4 11 years ago

OK the left flipper is still not working correctly. It doesn't seem to want to move much, if at all, even after I straightened out the switches.

This is a Bally Joust 1969 with zipper flippers. I'm going to try to research how to repair the left flipper, but it seems a little complicated to me...does the fact that they are zippers complicate things more? The zipper part works, by the way.