(Topic ID: 116448)

Total newb- should I restore a pinball machine?

By polyacanthus

9 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

2168f1.jpg
    monocirrhus_polyacanthus_3.jpg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider polyacanthus.
    Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 9 years ago

Hi, I think I'm in the right place... I'm pitching to my wife the idea of getting a pinball machine. I get a lot of satisfaction out of getting things cheap and fixing them up- for example all my lawn and garden equipment that I bought in non-working condition at scrap prices and now works great I have a lot of electrical and mechanical experience from tinkering not to mention repairing toy trains professionally for many years.

Anyway, it seems like the best way to learn is to jump right in. But what pitfalls do I need to look out for? Are there certain models or issues that just aren't fixable or worth fixing, or are there better brands or models for a beginner to get into?

Thanks!

#27 9 years ago

Thanks for the encouragement and insight. I did incorrectly use the term "restore", to be clear I wouldn't be looking for a full restoration candidate right off the bat- more like something that works but needs some maintenance. I'm assuming rubbers, lighting, targets, that sort of thing should be fairly readily available... Where's a good place to start looking for parts like this?

As for the money part, I've been involved in high power rocketry where you buy expensive motors and literally set fire to them- so pins have to be more reasonable than that, right?

1 week later
    #38 9 years ago

It looks like a lot of wearable parts and mechanical parts like flippers are widely available for most em's since the 70s. But I've seen some 60s bally machines with a different kind of target. Anything I should know about these or are they just as serviceable?