New! Dark mode!

Browsing Pinside at night? Getting tired of all the white? Switch to dark mode using the button in the top right (or CTRL-B)!

(Topic ID: 116448)

Total newb- should I restore a pinball machine?

By polyacanthus

5 years ago

Topic Stats

• 65 posts
  • 35 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 5 years ago by polyacanthus
  • Topic is favorited by 4 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

There have been 2 images uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

2168f1.jpg
    monocirrhus_polyacanthus_3.jpg

There are 65 posts in this topic. You are on page 1 of 2.
    #1 5 years ago

Hi, I think I'm in the right place... I'm pitching to my wife the idea of getting a pinball machine. I get a lot of satisfaction out of getting things cheap and fixing them up- for example all my lawn and garden equipment that I bought in non-working condition at scrap prices and now works great I have a lot of electrical and mechanical experience from tinkering not to mention repairing toy trains professionally for many years.

Anyway, it seems like the best way to learn is to jump right in. But what pitfalls do I need to look out for? Are there certain models or issues that just aren't fixable or worth fixing, or are there better brands or models for a beginner to get into?

Thanks!

#2 5 years ago

Before you do anything, research, research, research, and then do just a little bit more. Check Vid's guides for a lot of restoration based information.

#3 5 years ago

This is not a cheap hobby. like shoot said do your reserch. mistakes can cost you hundreds or more. Just like cars you have good years from makers then have bad years.

#4 5 years ago