9 years ago

Topic Stats

• 8 posts
  • 6 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 9 years ago by ramegoom
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 9 years ago

Pinwiki says the WPC lamp columns use a TIP42. My manuals say TIP102. I think this is a mistake on Wiki but I am no expert here. Aren't 42s PNP and 102s NPN and thus not-interchangeable?

#2 9 years ago

you are correct. tip42 are PNP, 102 and 122 are NPN. Refer to the schematic and not the part layout or BOM whenever you are unsure of a part. Typographical errors exist in lots of these manuals, but almost 100% of the time the schematic is correct.

#3 9 years ago

Lamp rows (Q83-Q90) are NPN darlington transistors TIP102
    Lamp columns (Q91-Q98) are PNP darlington transistors TIP107

#4 9 years ago

Both of my WPC schematics (1993 and WPC-S) say the rows are TIP102 (NPN) and the columns are TIP107 (PNP). I doubt such a basic error would have lasted through several editions of the schematics.

Which specific transistor number are you questioning?

#5 9 years ago

Thanks SealClubber for bringing this up. That was a cut and paste error that I made. I'd copied that section from the System 11 section and missed that edit.

Cheers to you!
    --
    Chris Hibler - CARGPB #31
    http://www.Team-EM.com
    htt://webpages.charter.net/chibler/Pinball/index.htm
    http://www.PinWiki.com - The Place to go for Pinball Repair Info

#6 9 years ago

No problem, Thanks for clarifying. I wasn't sure if maybe people were using 42s in place of 102 or something.

#7 9 years ago

In the sys 9 games, there is an error where the bom calls for a "2n3904 PNP" which made its way into sorcerer, comet, and space shuttle manuals. Obviously a 2n3904 is an N-channel transistor, but it can be misleading. But the schematics are correct on all 3.

#8 9 years ago