(Topic ID: 181343)

tip of arrow inserts lifted

By FatPanda_old

7 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider fatpanda_old.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 7 years ago

I have a Gorgar machine in which the red arrow tips near the side 1-2-3-4 stand up targets are a bit lifted. I can push down on them but the pop right back up. What's the best way to fix this? If the ball is rolling slowly enough, the lifted tip will change the trajectory of the ball. Should I just replace them? Would that mean heating up the insert (from underneath), knocking it out, and gluing in a new one? I'm very new to do much work on machines. Just basic stuff.

Thanks!

#3 7 years ago
Quoted from Dono:

I did just that to a WMS Gulfstream EM pin I'm restoring for a buddy, as the tip of the arrowed insert was sticking up, and had become somewhat loose from the playfield... put some heat on it from the backside, and gently pop it out using a dowel or whatever is handy and slightly tapping until the insert comes out. For me, I had actually done a first coat of clear prior to seeing the issue... I used a straightedge to cut around the insert so that when it would come clean out of the playfield without fear of taking part of the playfield with it. Worked like a champ. Sand the old glue off - playfield hole and plastic, and simply glue back in and you're golden... see VIDs guide to playfield restoration on this site... it goes through the steps in very good detail

I did a quick search on Google, and it seems like the 1.5" red arrowhead inserts for this table are no longer available anywhere?? Say it ain't so!

There's no CC on my playfield, so it would seem that the heat, knock out, and replace method would be much easier in my case. I've read to use epoxy instead of superglue?

#6 7 years ago
Quoted from YeOldPinPlayer:

https://pinside.com/pinball/forum/topic/vids-guide-to-ultimate-playfield-restoration#post-547755