Topic Stats

• 18 posts
  • 10 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 6 years ago by Crash
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

There have been 4 images uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg
SpyLEDMod.png

#1 6 years ago

Hey all,
I thought I would drop this topic on the community and see what kind of feedback is available.

I'm very new to electronics. However, I've spent 22 years now in the electrical industry and I'm licensed for 90v-600v. I know how to properly size and construct high-voltage circuitry but I'm not familiar with the Printed Circuit Board world and its many specialized parts.

What I'm trying to do:
1984 Bally Spy Hunter - "S-H-0-T" Target area - lower playfield, right-hand side, under the Eiffel Tower plastic...
Using something similar to:
http://shop.cointaker.com/category.sc;jsessionid=6274E3E912283C78C38DA8837C2401CF.m1plqscsfapp05?categoryId=172

My guess:
Derive a 12vdc power supply large enough to power 5 of these "post light leds" wired in parallel.
(tek question: what is the load presented by One of these lights @ 12vdc?)

After proper sizing of the 12vdc power supply, the 12v output should be routed through a relay of some sort.
I'm hoping to use a PCB mounted relay capable of switching the projected load at 12vdc
And I would like to use a nearby playfield lamp circuit (which flashes with certain game functions) as the actuator or control circuit - In other words, I hope to control a relay with the 5vdc playfield lighting circuit.

So to recap:
I'm looking for a PCB mounted relay whose coil voltage is rated at 5v and capable of carrying a 12vdc load at the projected rating of 5 "post leds" - whatever that load turns out to be.