(Topic ID: 128804)

Thinking about a Traverse. Any thoughts?

By BigB

8 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 14 posts
  • 12 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 7 years ago by EchoVictor
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

traverse_front.jpg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider EchoVictor.
    Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#7 8 years ago

BigB,

I am an engineer for GM, and work with these vehicles often, so ask away.

As Robotron said, yes, the Chevy Traverse, GMC Acadia, Buick Enclave, and Saturn Outlook are all based on the "Lambda" crossover chassis. In terms of structure and chassis, they are virtually identical underneath the skin. Since you own a GMC, you're already familiar with the great amount of space and flexibilty the platform provides. The only real difference apart from styling comes in the Buick version. The Enclave has a bit more sound-proofing to lower interior noise. Other than that, all four are pretty much the same ride.

For 2013 MY, there were a few minor changes to the electrical architecture, which resulted in a few nicer features such as Bluetooth connectivity and nicer HVAC controls across the 3 remaining models.

As pin haulers, you'll notice slight differences. The Saturn (no longer produced) and your GMC have a straighter rear roofline, whereas the Buick and the Chevy dip down a little. What this means is that while all 4 will fit a modern DMD pin quite easily, only the GMC and the Saturn will fit a Stern NIB. I loaded my XMen NIB into my Outlook, and only had a half inch to spare to the headliner.

Please feel free to ask me any other questions.

Thanks,
    EV

P.S. To address the other poster....while I had no part in the decision, I am very thankful to every US taxpayer that I still have a job that allows me to take care of my family.