(Topic ID: 224447)

There's One More WPC-95 A/V Board

By wallybgood

5 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

100_1339 (resized).JPG
    100_1327 (resized).JPG
    100_1318 (resized).JPG

#1 5 years ago

Just finished building a WPC-95 A/V Board from parts.
    Decided not to populate the RS-232 option (serial port) or the H-V section and 12VDC. (running ColorDMD on all my pins)
    Most components are from Great Plains Electronics and if Ed did not have them, from Mouser. Used 6264LP and CY7C185-35 for Ram. Went with Nichicon audio grade caps for C36,37. AD1851 and ADSP 2105 from Ebay. TDA2030AV Audio Amps from Pinball Life. Used the gold plated double row connectors for 601, 602, and 603. (Ed has these in stock)
    Bare board from Mr P and the ASIC from PSPA.
    The ASIC and ADSP need to be surface mount soldered. Rob Anthony soldered these two. I’m a novice at SMT and the ASIC with its fine pitch would have been difficult for me. I installed sockets for the remainder of the ICs.
    The Static Ram, ASIC, ADSP2105, AD1851 and 2030AV Audio Amps are all obsolete but there seems to be a lot in stock from various suppliers.
    Component and bare board costs were around $240 shipped.
    There are a few mistakes in the assy diagrams from the game manuals. The parts list and schematics are accurate.
    Interesting project. Had a good dose of soldering, should last me for a while. Running it along with the Driver Board that I built last year.
    Wally

100_1318 (resized).JPG100_1318 (resized).JPG100_1327 (resized).JPG100_1327 (resized).JPG100_1339 (resized).JPG100_1339 (resized).JPG

#2 5 years ago

Very nice and nice to see this can be done.

#3 5 years ago

Indeed - nice work! Also notice you've got the light board completely removed. I've never done that when working on my games but it sure makes sense if doing a lot of backbox work. Thanks for sharing!

-Rob