By KingVidiot

1 year ago

Topic Stats

• 8 posts
  • 7 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 1 year ago by mystman12
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider kingvidiot.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 1 year ago

Hello fellow pinheads! I'm a music producer, musician, and audio engineer by trade. I own a studio up here in Michigan, away from the over-crowded, over-priced coasts where most of my peers tend to flock. While I'm hyper critical about my audio work, I try to leave it in the studio, and not overanalyze the movies, video games, and pinball machines I play, but sometimes - for better or worse, I can't help myself.

So I'm going to dissect 2 modern machines' sound design. One bad and one good.

Let's get the bad out of the way first.

Unfortunately, it was the recent reveal of Toy Story 4 that got me thinking about bad pinball sound design. I hate to further add to the negative noise around this game's reveal, but when I watched Joe Katz's rule explanation, it quite literally made me feel slightly ill. Not exaggerating, it actually made me feel queasy. My wife felt the same, and considering the fact that she has also spent a good amount of time being a musician, we had a good long discussion about what might be causing our adverse reaction to this pin's sound. I've also read a few other posts here recently about others getting that same uneasy feeling from the audio.