Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 43 posts
  • 22 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 9 years ago by e4mafia
  • Topic is favorited by 4 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

livecatch_fst.gif
    livecatch_slo.gif
    newtons-cradle-motion-24063902.jpg
    lc.gif
    #1 9 years ago

This one has boggled me for a long time! Chime in here or post on this forum:

http://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?p=4849676#post4849676

#2 9 years ago

See many people say the force of the flipper cancels the force of the ball but forces aren't suppose to just cancel each other out. For every action there is an equal and opposite reaction and you can see that in a dead flipped pass or trying to trap the ball by just leaving the flipper up, the ball bounces. But maybe this is because it is not a perfectly elastic collision. I'm no physics expert but maybe collisions that are not perfectly elastic have wave properties and the energy dissipates in different directions.

#3 9 years ago

the equal reaction is the momentum of the tip being knocked back as the ball hits it at the end of the stroke.

#4 9 years ago

Might have something to do with the fact that the flipper is still accelerating? It's not contacting at a constant velocity. Might be talking out of my ass, been a few years since my last mechanics class.

Edit: Also, it's easier to think of collisions as preserving kinetic energy, not as "equal opposite force". 2nd law of motion is a force applied to one object, not how two objects interact. It makes sense that positive ke from flipper could exactly cancel negative ke of ball.

#5 9 years ago
    Quoted from Bothan:

I'm no physics expert but maybe collisions that are not perfectly elastic have wave properties and the energy dissipates in different directions.