3 years ago

Topic Stats

• 52 posts
  • 28 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 3 years ago by Richthofen
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

There have been 39 images uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

image (resized).jpeg
    tv front (resized).jpg
    vcr (resized).jpg
    8192282876_79cf2b6d11 (resized).jpg
    2016-06-13_14.46.07_(resized).jpg
    8629759687_30305be7ef_(resized).jpg
    1e17063ab7e0d82b47274d493370bb55_(resized).jpg
    032d1d40f06200689c4fa57159902fab_(resized).jpg
    big30_(resized).JPG
    SeenSay_(resized).jpg
    CustomPunchcard.jpg
    Media.jpg
    PunchCard.jpg
    Terminator.jpg
    ReelTape.jpg
    OpticalCassette2.jpg

There are 52 posts in this topic. You are on page 1 of 2.
    #1 3 years ago

I graduated HS in 1983 so I lived through all this.

I still marvel at the early DOS computers I owned back well before Pentium (286 or something like that), recall phone modems of the 90s. But looking farther back to the 80s is even more astonishing what we thought was high tech.

I wonder what technology will be like 30-40 years from now?

http://money.cnn.com/gallery/technology/2016/03/25/80s-tech/index.html?iid=hp-stack-dom

image_(resized).png

#2 3 years ago

I also graduated in 83. In 81 my high school offered it's first computer class. We had to work in groups because we didn't have enough computers to go around. I think the model was TRS-80 3. Computers were still new at that time and our teacher struggled with the new technology. I kind of remember using a mailbox program to send messages to other workstations in the classroom. To be honest I got bored of technology about 5 years and that's when I rediscovered the simplicity of pinball again.

#3 3 years ago