(Topic ID: 50944)

Tech: One of these things is not like the other...

By Elfman

10 years ago

Topic Stats

• 9 posts
  • 5 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 10 years ago by Elfman
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG_3177.JPG
IMG_3175.JPG
IMG_3171.JPG
#1 10 years ago

So I am fairly new to the hobby and just acquired a T3 (Thanks PDXMonkey!). Loads of fun and everything works perfectly with the exception of the 4 flashers on the back panel near the T-X and Arnold. Upon closer inspection, I noticed that some of the red domes over the flashers were melted a little. Not a good sign. Got in the back and 2 of the 4 bulbs were shattered and 1 slot was empty. Okay, just need to add some working flashers in there and we should be good. Nope. Even with good flashers, still no joy.

Yesterday, I picked up a DMM and I must say that I was pretty intimidated by this thing. I am fairly mechanically inclined but when it comes to circuitry, diodes, capacitors and fuses, I am out of my element. But if I want the T3's RED Mode to really pop, I should go deeper. First, I pulled all the fuses out and did a continuity check on all of them. All good. What next. Time to check the wiring. This was a bit more of a struggle with trying to get to the back panel of the play field while connecting the other end to the molex connector. After some time, I indeed did find that the wiring was consistent in the lower part of the play field. Now to check from the molex to the back box. Wiring seems good and we have continuity. I remove the molex from the board and start visually inspecting.

Then I see it. Something doesn't look right. Q30 looks a little browned and cracked a little. This has to be my problem. Such a great sense of accomplishment to know that I had no idea what I was doing but was able to just deduce my way through it. So if you are a rookie, a DMM is a MUST.