(Topic ID: 30532)

Tech help: TOTAN Final Update..thanks Clive!

By PBINTHESOUTH

11 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

#1 11 years ago

Hello, to all and thanks ahead for the advice..I'm a newbie to this but getting better everyday.

Anyway have 2 problems now on my machine and not sure if they are related but here goes..

Pilot Air to my home immediately take inside and it plays a few games.. then all of the sudden will reset during gameplay only.. and no rhyme or reason.. could be early and does not seem dependent on any shot combo/action.. no errors reported.

Several others suggested the following which I did plus some others.. including reseating every connector I could find attached to any boards or power supplies.. used different outlet to wall.. cord to back of pb is nl no obvious burnt connectors or fuses.. even changed out batteries.. made sure no loose chips on boards...

Plug back in, run lamp/flashers/sound tests and no switch errors reported.. looks good to go.
Play a 5 ball game and it works flawlessly..

Wife now ready to play them.. interruption reset 2 games in a row.. the last it acted like it didn't want to restart and you could smell a faint burnt/electrical smell but no obvious noise/smoke/burn marks when pf lifted and translite removed...

Let rest overnight.. NOW it has an error report.. SOUND BOARD U 10-12 Ram Error Sound Error Sys. 3.62 10/15/96.

And of course no sound on sound test just the dong ten times on start up.. BUT crazy I played a 2 person game... NO RESETS.

If you look at the MPU board there are 3 less..LED201 is off, LED 203 in middle flickers, LED below that is on..

On the AV board.. LED501 which appears to be near the U10 and u12 chips is off..

Anybody have any suggestions how to fix the above problems would be much appreciated!

#2 11 years ago

TOTAN is a great game, I still want one some day. Congrats on getting one.