Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

DSC_0712 (resized).JPG
#1 7 years ago

Every game starts as 4 players

Not sure what the deal is

I press start once & it's ready for 4 players

Wondering if it was rigged that way for free play or what the heck. I have zero experience with EM's so any help would be appreciated!

Anyone have some insight?

#2 7 years ago

You'll need to look at the coin unit stepper. It's probably stuck at the 4 player position. I believe it's located in the cabinet. Should be a couple coils one to advance players and another to reset it back to zero. Run each manually by hand and make sure no wires broke off the reset coil lugs.

#3 7 years ago

Hi PW79
I do not have an Target Alpha - I do have an "hard to read copy" of the schematics, I am not familiar with the very late Gottlieb EM pins - I do have a Surf Champ, August 1976 - but it is not a "very late Gottlieb". Do YOU have schematics / manual ?

(((Coin Unit is the Unit for "How many players want to play the next game")))
When starting a game on my Surf Champ the pin lets the "Coin Unit Reset Coil" fire ONCE. I believe to read in my Target Alpha schematics: At start-up the Target-Alpha does step once or twice or 3,4 5? times the RESET-Coil. A thing that supports my theory is in this video: http://www.pinrepair.com/em/index3.htm#axrelayvideo - starting at 1:05 Clay shows a "1977 Jungle Queen" - at 1:23 to 1:30 he manually steps up 5? times the Coin-Unit and DOES SINGLE STEPS to step down the Unit.

Unplug the 110VAC power cord (Safety Reasons), locate the Coin-Unit and manually step it into one direction and then step it into the other direction and finally step it to "somewhere in a middle position" - means "at next start-up": The pin MUST step DOWN - do You see some reaction on the Coin-Unit ? Greetings Rolf

#4 7 years ago

Hi PW79