Topic Stats

• 38 posts
  • 8 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 3 years ago by zaza
  • Topic is favorited by 2 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

There have been 8 images uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

2016-03-14_15-57-31.png
addfam_sol2_(resized).JPG
addfam_(resized).png
slingshot_solenoid.png
db_gif.gif
solenoid_front.png
solenoid_rear.png
IMG_7213.png

#1 3 years ago

Well, in the middle of a game the other day, the swamp gremlins decided they wanted to keep my game ball for themselves. the swamp lockup kickout stopped working.

Now, I’m a complete novice when it comes to game repair and I have eyesight issues, so working under the playfield can sometimes be comical, bare with me please.

Once I retrieved the ball from the swamp, I lifted up the playfield and tried to narrow down the issue.

Visual inspection:
I inspected the swamp area under the playfield for any noticeable issues. I noticed there are two solenoids in the swamp; the Swamp Release (coil-AE-30-2000) moves the ball to the Lockup Kickout (coil-AE-26-1200). Visually (which is a term I use loosely) everything looks intact, no noticeable burn marks or disconnected wires, the mechanics of the solenoids move and spring back smoothly, the plunger looks to be ceramic.

Single Switch Test:
I then ran the system single switch tests. I did not realize the swamp had so many switches; swamp lock upper, center, lower and lockup kickout. All switches tested open and when pressed would test closed. So it looks like all is fine here.

Solenoid Test
The swamp release (T4.28) solenoid tested okay, but the lockup kickout (T4.08) did nothing. I rechecked the solenoid, making sure it was secured to the playfield and rechecked the wires, retested and still nothing. The other solenoids in the machine also seemed to test fine.

Multimeter Ohm tests: