• Latest reply 4 years ago by Priam
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG_8418 (resized).jpg
#1 4 years ago

This subject may be taboo on this forum, so if I'm outta line here please let me know...respectfully, no faux pas is intended here.

I have a TAF, it's running TAFG LX-3 ROMs (that's the way it came when I purchased it...see picture). One of my TAF's previous owners also installed the "Pinball Bulbs Ultimate LED Kit", which replaced all incandescent bulbs with LEDs. These bulbs seem to ghost a bit, even though I *think* they're the non-ghosting type.

So I was considering applying the non-ghosting patch to my ROM and see if that helps. I don't expect any technical difficulties in doing this, although I'm new to pinball machines, I have programmed EPROMs for other projects.

But, my question is, under what condition are the HSTD values reset when you install a new ROM? For example, does the APPLE OS reset these values when it detects a new ROM version (i.e. from LX-3 to something else), or does it reset them when it sees a new ROM checksum? Or other condition?

I'd like to hang on to the high-scores in there, my son would be a bit aggrieved if I'd erased his scores, especially because he's the current Grand Champion on it.

Thanks!

IMG_8418 (resized).jpgIMG_8418 (resized).jpg
#2 4 years ago

It does not erase it on a checksum mismatch (make sure you correct the checksum to avoid errors, though).

It forces a factory reset/ram clear whenever the version # changes though.... so even though the ghost patch directions indicate you should increment the value to something else, if you do, it will clear it.

If you label the rom pretty clearly as "lx3 GHOST PATCHED" I'd think it would be ok for subsequent owners of the game that might not be aware of the rom change otherwise. Or when you go to sell the machine in the future, do the full incremental upgrade and let the HSTD get reset.

#3 4 years ago