Topic Stats

• 20 posts
  • 5 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 5 years ago by Nighthawk128
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

There have been 3 images uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

System1PowerSupplySchematic.jpg
Tab.jpg
Diode.jpg

#1 5 years ago

I'm new to the pinball repair game and have recently picked up my first machine, a Gottlieb Solar Ride. It's in decent shape cosmetically by my assessment although it's not in working order.

I've been using pinrepair.com to pretty good success in terms of understanding exactly what it is I'm looking at but I'm still a total newbie when it come to diagnosis.

When I turn on the machine, some playfield lights come on but that's about it. I'm not getting any voltage to the power supply and have found that the 1a fuse behind the smaller transformer is blowing which I assume is the cause.

I've recently purchased some new bridge rectifiers (400v 35a according to pinrepair) which I plan to install today as one was out of tolerance although I'm not sure that's the problem and don't want to blindly begin replacing things past that!

Any help would be great appreciated.

Thanks,

John

#2 5 years ago

Staring with the bad bridge is a great start.

#3 5 years ago

Great, thank you so much for the reply. Replacing the bridges tonight and will post my results.

#4 5 years ago

Well, I replaced one bridge and it wasn't until afterward I realized it's only blowing the fuse with the power supply connected. Could I just need to do the ground mod? Any tips on where to begin diagnosing why it surges? I've read they have a fail-safe built in that can cause this to happen, I'm just not sure on how to find the culprit.

Thanks again,

John

#5 5 years ago