• Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Wide (resized).jpg
CloseUp (resized).jpg
#1 7 years ago

I found a coil in my non-working Pink Panther that's registering .3 ohms. It looks sort of burnt compared to the other coils in my game. Is that a thing that happens? Do they literally fry? You can see it in the picture compared to the ones next to it.
Second question. What is the thing hooked up between the coil's leads? (It's in a red rectangle in the image)
Third question. Several of the coils read between 30 and 40 ohms. One other reads at 11. Why would that be?

Thanks again for your help.

CloseUp (resized).jpgCloseUp (resized).jpg
Wide (resized).jpgWide (resized).jpg

#2 7 years ago

That thing in red outline is a diode.

LTG : )

#3 7 years ago
Quoted from LTG:

That thing in red outline is a diode.
LTG : )

Any good way to find out what diode it is?
Apologies, I am very new to this.

Thanks again

#4 7 years ago

Well to the left of coil in your first picture you see those diode boards. Gottlieb didn't put the diodes right on the coils. So if you removed it you should or will still have a diode on the board. Yes when coils overheat and the shellac coating melts or breaks down windings are shorted and the shorter the length of wire gets the less resistance you will get. Any 1n4001-1n4007 is fine as a replacement. Diodes are used as a voltage spike flywheel for back emf when a coil deenergizes. Banded side with any coil will always connect to the more positive side and unbanded will go ground. If a diode is replaced incorrect you will immediately blow a fuse and may cause damage as it will act as a dead short.

#5 7 years ago
Quoted from CNKay: