Displays error code (resized).jpg
2339 (resized).jpg
2328 (resized).jpg
2329 (resized).jpg
2334 (resized).jpg
2327 (resized).jpg
sys6backboxparts (resized).jpg
#1 6 years ago

I have a Firepower im going to try and get going. When turned on the only thing that happens is the displays come on (no lights, start button doesnt work, nothing). As you can see from the pictures the driver board looks to have gotten very hot! I probably shouldnt have turned it on in its current state but figured any damage had already been done as the previous owner stated they turned it on and had same results, just displays came on. My plan is to buy a new R.Dog mpu/driver board. I have no previous board work experience but have access to someone local who knows a bit and has a desoldering station.

1) I would like to check if the power board is good, how do i do that? I assume the caps will probably be bad, should i just order a new R.dog board for the power as well?

2) Im missing the giant blue capacitor that sits in the bottom of the head, what does that do...where can i get one. Pic below is not my machine, just for reference.

3) I plugged the upper right display (one thats out) in using the harness plug below it and it came on so seems that upper harness/plug has an issue, plug looked fine though...any ideas?

4) Im assuming i shouldnt just buy a new mpu/driver board and plug it in without checking the other components...if they are bad can they damage the new board?

5) Really just looking for some advice / direction as this is a first for me. Thanks!

sys6backboxparts (resized).jpgsys6backboxparts (resized).jpg

2327 (resized).jpg2327 (resized).jpg

2334 (resized).jpg2334 (resized).jpg

2329 (resized).jpg2329 (resized).jpg

2328 (resized).jpg2328 (resized).jpg

2339 (resized).jpg2339 (resized).jpg

#2 6 years ago

Some really good documentation on firepower can be found here...specifically the PDF's.
http://www.firepowerpinball.com/downloads/