Topic Stats

• 5 posts
  • 3 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 3 years ago by JethroP
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 3 years ago

I'm a novice with Williams boards and would appreciate help is getting this working. The boards are clean and original. I plan to replace connectors (even though I think they are currently not the problem), but I haven't ordered any parts yet.

When I turn on the game it comes up immediately in test 04 and the MPU LED's both flash once and both turn off.

Then if I press the MPU self test button (on the MPU), the LED's turn solid on. If I press the self test button again and again after a few times the LED's eventually flash twice and then off. After that, I am able to use the test button on the coin door...

Using the coin door test button I am able to test all the displays, and they all pass working.
Using the coin door I am also able to test all the feature lights, all the solenoids, and the sounds. Everything all tests fine.

But when I restart the game, it comes up stuck in test 04. What could the problem be?

#3 3 years ago

Run through that page. It has helped me a lot track down issues.

#4 3 years ago

it's booting into audit mode, so:

batteries are bad/not installed/not providing power to the 5101

5101 is bad

memory protect is bad

sometimes you can get it into attract mode by flicking the power switch quickly

#5 3 years ago

Just got this board to boot! I had bad 5101. I actually replaced it earlier this morning and had same problem. Replaced it with another and fixed the problem. Guess I had a bad 5101 spare!

Thank you all for the responses!
Jethro

Promoted items from Pinside Marketplace and Pinside Shops!
$ 12.50
Lighting - Led
RoyGBev Pinball

$ 65.00
Boards
Pinball Haus

1,700 (OBO)
Machine - For Sale
Cape Coral, FL
$ 11.00
Electronics
Yorktown Arcade Supply

$ 170.00
Displays
Digipinball Shop

$ 27.95
Eproms
Pinballrom

$ 9.95
Eproms
Pinballrom

Tools
Pincoder Store

Hey modders!