• Latest reply 10 years ago by northvibe
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

20140211_210500[1].jpg
#1 10 years ago

Hello I have a gladiators that I bought and has been sitting in corner for year. When I brought game home it worked except in beast challenge stage when you hit the first upper hole to slay the beast ball would freeze dmd would display mega bonus and it would count down never search for ball just music played flippers still would work after aprox 7-8 mins would release ball game continue until hit next hole to continue to slay beast same thing ball freezes display shows mega bonus count down and so on after you kill the beast it would continue and play fine no problems.
ok so now I went to work on problem and when i turn it on GI lights up on playfield and backbox but dmd has scrambled mess along top part and no beep no led on any board light up.
I thank you for any advice and I am new to diagnostics.
Greg

#2 10 years ago

Bump

#3 10 years ago

Is the battery leaking on the CPU?

#4 10 years ago

Nope battery looks good

#5 10 years ago

If you have no flashing lights on any of the boards then the A1 control board has not started.

While the battery may not have leaked (rarely does on Sys3), it may be dead. You can get around this by turning the machine on and pressing the reset button on the CPU board. If the LED does not blink after that, you could have a problem with the ROM, RAM, CPU, U6 watchdog or U11 74HC123.

Diagnosing and repairing control board faults on a Sys3 beyond swapping out socketed components is not something I would recommend as a starter repair project.

viperrwk

#6 10 years ago
Quoted from viperrwk:

Diagnosing and repairing control oard faults on a Sys3 beyond swapping out socketed components is not something I would recommend as a starter repair project.

Thank you I was afraid of that I guess i could find working CPU and swap mine out may be only option dam.