• No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

201501-HS-39k-ok.jpg
201501-HS-display3-4-5-noise.jpg
#1 9 years ago

I just finished a playfield swap on a High Speed, and now it's time to sweat the details.

I have a set of original good displays with no missing segments, but there is what I would call "noise" in the system.

When in display test, and the little dancing "asterisk" cruises from display 1 to display 2 character by character, individual cells light up a little bit in the corresponding column in the display below it. I'll include a picture.

When I boot up, and there have been no letters drawn yet -- there is no noise. It seems to be a symptom of drawing elsewhere.

I'm a novice with troubleshooting displays, so I hope to learn a lot. I have an extra set of 11A displays (player 1, 2 + "5" only) that I can swap in and out and try reseating cables, and as I learn more, I'll post more.

I'm starting with the standard sys11 reference: http://techniek.flipperwinkel.nl/wms11/index3.htm#display

thanks!
-mof

201501-HS-display3-4-5-noise.jpg201501-HS-display3-4-5-noise.jpg

#2 9 years ago

Step1: check power from power board.

"These voltages should be from 95 to 105 volts."

expect/actual (vdc):

3J5
pin1: ground,ground
pin3: -100, -106
pin4: 100,100
pin6: 5,5

-mof

#3 9 years ago

Step2: Check the two 39k ohm resistors @ R1 and R4.

They check out with 39k ohm resistance each.

-mof

201501-HS-39k-ok.jpg201501-HS-39k-ok.jpg
#4 9 years ago

I have a Grand Lizard, I am going to try swapping components.
-mof

#5 9 years ago

1. Swapped Main ribbon cable. No change.

Any ideas on what is likely causing this?

-mof

#6 9 years ago

2. I tried swapping master display boards. No change.
-mof

#7 9 years ago

I'm starting to wonder about the MPU, and what vulnerabilities could be there that could lead to this "noise"...

-mof

#8 9 years ago