(Topic ID: 209326)

SWLE - Drains from clean shots. Is this how it's meant to be???

By Sprudeldudel

1 year ago

Topic Stats

• 11 posts
  • 7 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 1 year ago by Nevus
  • Topic is favorited by 2 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

#1 1 year ago

So, I have been owning a SWLE for about 4 months now. After playing it a lot I have to admit that the money on it was not well spent because of the way this machine is punishing clean shots with direct drains. And yes, it IS perfectly levelled and at a pitch of 6.5.

Examples of messed up shots:
Left Orbit - A clean fast shot will go SDTM, if lucky with a minor touch to the tip of the left flipper.
3 Bank - shoot it from the right and 50% go to the outlane; shoot it from the left 50% go SDTM
Horseshoe - shoot it clockwise and enjoy another STDM frequently

Slingshots - Yes slings are supposed to be a danger-factor. But not this percentage of outlane, despite them being at the bottom position.

The frustrating part is that you constantly need to hope that a well performed shot doesn't end in a drain on the return. I'm not talkng about messy hits or returns from balls that didn't make it up the ramp or anything of that sort. I am talking about perfectly clean shots. Those are NOT supposed to drain. I personally have no motivation left to improve my "skills" on this, because skilled clean shots drain very often. Not cool, not fun and from my personal point of view not an acceptable design "decision"...

...UNLESS there is some magical way the machine can be adjusted. Please enlighten me.

#2 1 year ago

My left orbit and horseshoe both always go cleanly to a flipper. My right orbit used to hit the rubber next to the spinner and go down the middle, but I bent it out a bit and now it goes to the left flipper every time.

3 Bank and slings are deadly on this game, but they're supposed to be, not much you can do about it.