Topic Stats

• 5 posts
  • 4 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 6 years ago by Luppin
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 6 years ago

Where the evolution of experimental/electronic music and pinball history meets.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b09rkhgb

I wonder if anyone in the world, but me, would dig out something like this and make the connection. Anyone else with a foot in both worlds?

#2 6 years ago

I am an amateur electronic music producer as well as a pinhead. Listening to the show right now.. awesomness...

Oh... and I own a Xenon of course. She looks and sound the sexiest of them all..

amazing link, thanks much for sharing!

this is the level of depth I enjoy in this hobby.. I actually created my own Twilight Zone soundtrack with Pinsound:

I really dig pre '90 machines becuase they have this adult feeling, both in the minimalist music/sound effects and in the art, that got lost after the '90. From the '90 sounds and effects started to often have this circus-alike feel, without taste, very flashy calls but soon repetitive and boring. Not always, but most of the time. I do not like machines that talk a lot, with fake over emotional lines that could please kids at best. Maybe when playing a machine few times in an arcade it could have a novelty effect, but owning them I much prefer the more adult, serious look and sound of older machines.

#3 6 years ago
Quoted from Luppin:

Maybe when playing a machine few times in an arcade it could have a novelty effect, but owning them I much prefer the more adult, serious look and sound of older machines.

I was just thinking about this same concept when playing Taxi. The sounds in Taxi, EATPM, Swords of Fury, and Torpedo Alley are all very good for late 80's machines.

Chris Granner did Taxi, EATPM, TZ, and TAF along with so many other great titles. He nearly perfected pinball sounds from 86-93.

#4 6 years ago

Suzanne Ciani did some amazing work alright.