Transformer_Old03(sm) (resized).jpg
Transformer_New01(sm) (resized).jpg
Tilt Mechanism02(sm) (resized).jpg
Tilt Mechanism01(sm) (resized).jpg
Power Button01(sm) (resized).jpg
Coin Door Ground03(sm) (resized).jpg
BlownFuse01(sm) (resized).jpg
#1 5 years ago

I recently purchased a Surf Champ from a seller in Pennsylvania. When I picked the game up, I played it just to make sure it worked. When I got it home, I realized the power cord was shot and decided to replace it, something I'd never done before (I'm a relative newbie to EM repair). So I bought a new grounded cord from PBR and hooked it up. I read vid1900's guide to replacing power cords, etc. (https://pinside.com/pinball/forum/topic/replacing-line-cords-plugs-wall-sockets-vids-guide) and figured I'd give it a shot. It went relatively smoothly, except it took quite a while to melt the old solder on the existing neutral line connection.

To do this, I removed the playfield and the bottom board with the transformer, to make it easier to solder the wires. Once the cord was connected to the transformer, I replaced everything except the tilt mechanism. (I was in a hurry to see if I had actually been successful in rewiring the transformer and figured I didn't need the tilt mechanism reconnected to check that.)

I plugged it in and hit the ON/OFF switch underneath the cabinet. When I hit the switch, I received a small shock. The game powered up fine. I started a game, played one ball and during that ball, the game tilted for no apparent reason. I turned the game off and unplugged it.

I searched pinside to see if I could figure out the problem and wondered if I had wired the transformer incorrectly. I found a post by vid1900 in this thread (https://pinside.com/pinball/forum/topic/machines-giving-me-a-shock):

With the game off, but plugged in, check your incoming wires in the machine. So, meter set on AC:

One probe on WHITE wire, one on green. Voltage (hopefully 0v)? (if 120v WHITE is HOT)