Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

E924BD1C-357B-40AC-97AC-BE82A3E5E8A7 (resized).jpeg
B0DDB773-D213-4C93-A7AB-9D3ACE34A8F2 (resized).jpeg
pasted_image (resized).png
pasted_image (resized).png
#1 3 years ago

This is my first attempt at fixing an EM game, so feel free to over-explain!

The game takes credits, and when I hit the start button it goes through it’s reset sequence and puts a ball in the shooter lane. And that’s about it. No flippers, no slings, no pop bumpers. If I hit the switch in the upper-right saucer, it does fire the eject solenoid.

I cleaned all the Jones plugs, checked the fuses, and filed a few normally-closed switches (somewhat randomly).

What’s next? I can attach a video of the behavior of that would help.

Thanks in advance!

#2 3 years ago

Resolved! I took a tip from my friend Josh who said he sometimes wiggles everything to see if wiggling something makes things work. Sure enough, I started a game and held the flipper button in and started wiggling stuff, and was able to eventually narrow it down to one of the relays.

I then used a wooden coffee stirrer to push on each closed switch to see which one wasn’t connecting well. Once I found it, I filed down the contacts to be flat and shiny again, and voila! Everything now works (basically)

#3 3 years ago

Good, it's working again!

Can I suggest that you read this, which will help you if you need to clean more switches: http://www.pinrepair.com/em/index2.htm#clean

#4 3 years ago

After more testing, figured out it was KIND OF working. I could start a one player game, but it was buggy about adding more players. I cleaned some more contacts, and now it will only ever recognize one player and it doesn't advance through the ball count.

I haven't disassembled and clean the player unit and the switch stack behind it yet, but I'm thinking that's next?

#5 3 years ago
Quoted from HeyItsMeDusty:

it will only ever recognize one player