Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

image (resized).jpg
#1 3 years ago

Hi everyone. I am new to troubleshooting pinball machines although I have played for many years.

I bought a refurbished 8Ball Deluxe off this site about 3 months ago. Very nice looking machine but having some issues.

Most recently, suddenly my 4 score displays do not light up at all. neither does the fifth display --which is for ball in play and credits.

the machine will still play, you just dont know the score or ball in play.

My manual suggested maybe it was an issue with the MPU board and that it should be replaced? However, I had an extra MPU board that the seller sent me as we trouble shot some other issues previously. When i used this replacement board --problem with displays still persists. So i dont think it is the MPU board.

I emailed the seller for advise and was told to find a local pinball repair guy to help me. As i am still paying for this machine, I really dont have extra money now to find a repair guy.

Anyone have any advice on possible fixes for this issue? Anything I can get is appreciated.

#2 3 years ago

The first thing I would check is every fuse in the machine. Take them out one by one and test continuity.

Pinball Life has replacements.

#3 3 years ago

Ok. I have not done that yet, but i will do that. Great idea.

Is Pinball Life a website?

#4 3 years ago

Pull the connectors off the back of each display and the main display board. My Six Million Dollar Man did the same thing. It fixed my issue. Here is a picture of the one I think it’s been awhile but pretty sure the issue was here. I think it was the long connector on the bottom

image (resized).jpgimage (resized).jpg
#5 3 years ago

OK. thanks Gents. I will try both.

#6 3 years ago

Please do this with the game off. If you grab a display connector with the game on it could shock the piss out of you. These things are powerful! No joke

#7 3 years ago