11 years ago

Topic Stats

• 5 posts
  • 5 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 11 years ago by SuperTurbo
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

hyperpin.jpg
    #1 11 years ago

Before you read the below, please know that I am very new to pinball and even more new to physical pinball. 'twas two things was got me interested then hooked: 1. miner2049er on Retrogaming Roundup explaining how to play pinball. 2. The Pinball Arcade. I don't have a LOT of access to real pinball tables, but there's a dude in Hockley, TX that I visit when I can who has a large number of tables. I am in Houston, TX.

Here are some things I learned:

1. Pinball is much more physical than I thought. Even with the wonders of The Pinball Arcade, you miss so much: nudging, planting your feet on the ground, physical buttons, lights, sounds, vantage point.

2. And speaking of The Pinball Arcade, which I love, the word "clinical" comes to mind. In a way, it almost seems like a table in TPA is a test table. It works but it works the same every time. There's no nuance. There are no ball dimples in the playfield. There's no chance the ball will climb over a flipper. One flipper is not less powered than the other. All slingshots and bumpers work the same everytime. And there is NO english on the ball. I've seen many real pinballs now take weird turns and you know it's because there's an unusual spin on the ball that isn't simulated in TPA.

3. I suck badly at some games in person that I've done well on in TPA. Taxi kicked my ass. To be sure, Taxi kicked my ass for a long time in TPA, too. Bride of Pinbot destroyed me. I can reach billions on BOP on TPA. The physical bride left me at the altar.