(Topic ID: 125552)

STTNG too much maintenance for a newbie?

By kesselrig

9 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 29 posts
  • 21 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 8 years ago by pezpunk
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 9 years ago

Hi all, I'm looking for my second pin after a NIB stern. A STTNG has come up for sale within a few hours drive that I'm considering. The theme is a fit and it's a machine I think I'd like to own.

However, I'm still learning basic maintenance. I can build a PC from scratch, but don't have experience maintaining electronics. I'm happy to learn, but I don't want to get in over my head or overpay for a project machine.

It is difficult to tell condition from the poor photos supplied so I've requested a new set. The listing states:

- Playfield is in very good condition, small amount of wear on top right where ball leaves habitrail
- Machine is error free
- Translite perfect
- Cabinet original, good colors and condition, small nick on front of cab
- LEDs added throughout
- Cliffy added to Neutral Zone
- New legs
- New Playfield glass
- New plastics
- Mirror blades
- Red DMD cover
- No lines out on DMD
- Chrome backbox trim & flippers
- Under cab lighting added

I'm hopeful that the cosmetic additions indicate a well maintained machine, but not sure if this is a reasonable expectation.

From research here, I understand that STTNG requires a lot of maintenance. Common trouble areas appear to be the cannons, optos, eddy sensors and diverter coils under the playfield.
Given that I don't have any experience with Williams machines, I'm trying to determine if (with a bit of research) I'd be able to run the diagnostics and identify if any of these items have issues during an inspection.