Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

pasted_image (resized).png
20180913_180939.jpg
20180913_181007.jpg
#1 5 years ago

I am a bit of a noob, and I have acquired a huo STTNG that does weird random things. During gameplay it will display "open coin door to use buttons", it will show the spinner value when pressing a flipper button, and sometimes all three flippers will go crazy and engage by themselves. The flippers will stop when either flipper button is pressed, but start again when the button is released. Sometimes (not always) I get flipper EOS switch stuck closed and/or GND Short Row 1, sometimes all the balls shoot into the trough, sometimes a coil underneath the playfield starts firing. Turning the game off and on again usually fixes everything and the game will play again, until it doesn't. I have looked for loose wires or obvious physical problems, but see none. U20 is soldered, but that seems to be a common suggestion - help?

#2 5 years ago

<JediMindTrick> You want to sell it to me </JediMindTrick>

#3 5 years ago

oh wait...wrong game/universe

First: Welcome aboard, Captain!

Second: Make sure you look over the STTNG forum...tons of useful info there.

Third: Don't Panic, its all easier than it looks upfront.

#4 5 years ago

Ok, here we go...

I would like for you to take a picture of every PCB in the head, and would like a close up picture of the CPU board (lower left corner) from the batteries down...including the connectors.

Quoted from RobC:

U20 is soldered, but that seems to be a common

U20 should be soldered, it also should never fail; primary causes of a U20 failure are battery leakage and poor maintenance actions.

#5 5 years ago

Welcome aboard!!

Check your opto boards.
I can bet you have a problem with a cold solder joint on one resistance and or opto emitter receiver, and you have a bad lm339 ic.

Please post a video , or take note what activity happens on switch test. Post a picture and see if some switch is flickering.