758036BE-25BA-49CE-B6C0-528D202B676C (resized).png
5AA3E02A-F490-4ED6-9DC8-E2FC56B747D6 (resized).jpeg
C6EE187C-EA9E-456E-BE58-341B786475BC (resized).jpeg
pasted_image (resized).png
AD8EEC62-1074-44DE-AC68-CC5157AA4F79 (resized).jpeg
89D7BAAA-7CF5-4317-A037-3918BF4EE383 (resized).jpeg
346D2461-5D53-481D-A404-406D7EC41DDC (resized).jpeg
#1 3 years ago

Playing my Bride of Pinbot today I noticed a small shock when touching the lock bar. The game has a new, intact, grounded power cable going to a properly wired outlet.

When I connected my multimeter to the side rail and one of the play field ramps, it measured around 300-900mV.

Nothing looks out of place inside the box where the power cable is wired in.

I’m new at this, so at this point I’m not sure how I should be trying to isolate and troubleshoot this. Any pointers?

346D2461-5D53-481D-A404-406D7EC41DDC (resized).jpeg346D2461-5D53-481D-A404-406D7EC41DDC (resized).jpeg89D7BAAA-7CF5-4317-A037-3918BF4EE383 (resized).jpeg89D7BAAA-7CF5-4317-A037-3918BF4EE383 (resized).jpeg
#2 3 years ago

I don’t think you would ever notice the shock of 1 volt.

Has to be something else going on. Did you check on the ground wires in the cabinet.

#3 3 years ago

Measure from the lock bar to the ground braid - it should be zero.

#4 3 years ago

Since you felt a shock from the lock bar, measure from the lock bar to ground. Ground can be a leg on another machine or any of several methods.

Take off the lock bar, test the lock bar receiver.

Checking the ground braid is good, you want that functioning to dissipate any voltage that gets where it shouldn’t but that’s not the cause of the stray voltage. Further investigation will be needed to find the source.

#5 3 years ago

Your meter reads 36 mv. That's a tiny stray voltage that could be caused by a tiny resistance in your test leads.

#6 3 years ago

Should I be using the meter in AC or DC?

#7 3 years ago