(Topic ID: 182144)

Sterns holding up on location

By clg

7 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 7 years ago

OK I'm annoyed right now and a little buzzed I have been operating pins for a couple years. I get that stuff breaks, my Williams have been pretty solid, I have a TSPP that runs smoothly and my WOZ needed adjustments but did pretty well all in all particularly given how much it got played. I fix things and move on. I was thinking Metallica would be a nice easy game to put out and that it should be solid, not so!

I put Metallica out two weeks ago (one of my favourite games and never gave me problems at home) I have had a wire come off a switch (snake so it matters) a bulb/reflector get knocked off with an air ball, and now the trough switches are acting up. I thought this would be a nice trouble free game but man not even close!

Any advice for what you need to do to location proof this thing? If this keeps up it is not going to last long. HUO game and everything seemed perfect. Are there things I need to swap out or upgrade that anyone can point me to? This is the first newer stern I have put out.

Cheers for any advice.

#2 7 years ago

Whoooo man those are pretty simple issues. If you are worried about those you may be in the wrong business!!!

But in all seriousness, Metallica is one of the most reliable pinballs out there.

Hot glue those stupid bulb things, directly solder wires on the trough switch boards, and that's it.

I run like 40 pinballs, Metallica is probably my most reliable game...

#3 7 years ago

I've had my snake switch come off a couple of times. other than that nothing big. Granted it only has 3000 plays on it.

#4 7 years ago

My Metallica probably has 40,000+ plays.

It was on free play at a high tech company with 2000 employees for a full year(averaged 80 plays a day 5 days a week), and also at a pinbar I run for a few years.