• 2 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 4 months ago by paladin-ng
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Capture (resized).JPG

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider paladin-ng.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 5 months ago

Hello, I'm pretty good with digital electronics and repairing video game logic boards, but I'm not good with analog/power and haven't fixed pins, and the logic of this issue has got me confused esp without much knowledge of these systems.

Anyway my Stern Tron stopped working probably a year ago, haven't had time to look at it till now.
The game "boots" and I get lights etc., but no coils at all. The LED under F10 on the power driver board is not lit (though the LED itself works/lights if I touch my multimeter to the ends in ohmmeter mode). I do have AC power at the inputs on the molex that feeds the bridge recitifer. The F10 fuse is also fine and all the test points on the power board are OK.. kind of

on the bottom left voltage test points
18, and 20 are good, but 50 is actually at 70V

on the right/center +5, +12 and whatever the other was (-12 or -5 I forget) are OK

ALL the green power LEDs on the bottom/center of the board are lit!

if I open the coin door it will say "20/50" disabled, however that message only comes once I open the door, and does NOT go away after I close it.

Does anyone have any ideas? I contacted stern a few days ago but no response yet (not that I am complaining... it is the holidays and there's a pandemic

pics of the board powered on at
https://photos.app.goo.gl/dAtpXCRjTjpQiurq5

pics of the board after being powered off at
https://photos.app.goo.gl/N8uTr2s2bmxtkdYn8

any pointers/ideas/help appreciated.

#3 5 months ago
Quoted from LTG:

Usually high not under load.

Then it's not getting power.

As in pulled and checked with a meter ?
LTG : )