New! Dark mode!

Browsing Pinside at night? Getting tired of all the white? Switch to dark mode using the button in the top right (or CTRL-B)!

(Topic ID: 238108)

Stern SM Shaker Motor - Suddenly won't stop running

By CaptFig

1 year ago

Topic Stats

• 20 posts
  • 9 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 19 days ago by Gogojohnnyquack
  • Topic is favorited by 2 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

There have been 3 images uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

A1B8916A-58FD-454F-BB82-59256E4B876A (resized).jpeg
8879DE80-CEAD-4742-B4BB-2D0F05A8A8BB (resized).jpeg
PastedGraphic-1 (resized).jpg

#1 1 year ago

So I'm a newbie but very tech-savvy. I bought a 2007 Stern SM and installed a Stern SM Rev A Shaker Motor kit. After a couple installation glitches, all fine for about half a dozen games. Suddenly, mid-game the shaker motor starts (properly, in response to play field activation) but didn't stop and now runs whenever power is applied to the machine. Any clues?

#2 1 year ago

Something wrong and that took out the transistor that drives it.

LTG : )

#3 1 year ago

LTG - thanks. That was my thought, too. Question is, is it the transistor on the SM PCB or the transistor on the I/O board? What would your guess be?

#4 1 year ago
Quoted from CaptFig:

LTG - thanks. That was my thought, too. Question is, is it the transistor on the SM PCB or the transistor on the I/O board? What would your guess be?

IO is my guess

#5 1 year ago

LTG - Many thanks. I'm not the best at desoldering/soldering. Don't suppose there's any alternative I haven't heard of?

#6 1 year ago
Quoted from CaptFig:

I'm not the best at desoldering/soldering. Don't suppose there's any alternative I haven't heard of?

Welding.

Easier would be Youtube how to videos. Some scrap wire and solder, practice heating a joint and flowing solder. Then try on a junk board. When you can remove components and replace them without lifting traces off the board. Then move onto your game.