(Topic ID: 224726)

Stern Pro Models affect on older games for me. Am I crazy?

By Loganpinball

5 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 61 posts
  • 43 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 5 years ago by vassq
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

1ACFE59B-6009-48D2-95DA-6D608497C56A.jpeg
    EA6EE9FF-0D84-475F-AC19-A66935E988DA (resized).jpeg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider MikeS.
    Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#23 5 years ago

Older games have basically doubled in cost over the past 6-7 years which makes Stern Pros a better value in comparison. My limit on old games is $3500. Anything more than that and I'll save a bit more and get a Stern. The software and replay value is just better on a Stern and they don't require much maintenance and are pretty trouble free.

The other side of it is that I've been collecting for 15 years and have owned or played most of the 90s games to death so Stern Pros have more appeal to me in the $4k-$5k market.

#36 5 years ago
    Quoted from dung:

I have watched locally as both of these titles sat working from collectors for 2500 each in the past year, so yes you can. That said some people do not care if a game is perfect, many just want to play it. This varies person to person though. Personally I like a machine that in good shape, but don't care if its perfect. I also find modern sterns to feel cheap as crap. Pegs instead of rails. The new metal head. The cheap latch system for the lock down bar. Also not a fan of the lack of backbox lighting effects. For me the sweet spot was the early to mid 2000's when stern had deep rulesets but still had a high bom. You lost out on the backbox light effects, but it had everything else. Now, unless you get a premium it feels like you got ripped off.