10 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

McCune1.jpg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider PDXGeek.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 10 years ago

So I picked up a Metallica Pro this last weekend and after spending a full week with this machine and a couple days with the latest fw (1.13), I am happy to say Metallica Pinball is one of the best machines Stern has ever made.

I have been collecting pinball machines since 1996, so I have played, and owned, a lot of different machines. I am even fortunate enough to be around a guy (markmon) that collects pretty much every machine ever created. So I feel comfortable saying I have played a very large variety of machines and have a good feel for what makes a good game.

Metallica is a good, rather great, game. Every shot on this game leads towards completing a goal, and the game itself is not filled with cheap drains from making a shot. At the sametime, the game is sufficently challenging, with a rule set that is still challenging. With 9 unique shots to make in a fan favorite fan layout, the game provides lots of different options on every live catch you make.
The music ties into the gameplay perfectly, and the start of every multiball mode fills you with excitement and satisfaction. Something that seems rare in todays new machines that traditionally offer instant drains for made shots.

The ruleset, while incomplete, is already good enough to let you get a great amount of player satisfaction, and wheat your appetite for more in the future. The legendary Lyman is continuing the rule set creation, which is already great. The most recent update really cleaned up the ruleset and now the progression towards coffin multiball and seek and destroy makes more sense.