• 1 Pinsider participating
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

• Ali Stern Electronics, 1980

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

20151214_020226.jpg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider noiseprisoner.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 8 years ago

I'm pretty new to this hobby and soaking up as much info as I can. I acquired a pretty worn out non-working Stern Ali from a coworker and was able to get it running great by replacing the rectifier board and rewiring the J1, J2, J3 connectors. The playfield was totally shot and I recently purchased a fantastic NOS playfield from a fellow Pinside member. I read up on everything I could find regarding playfield swaps and spent most of 2 days working carefully on moving everything to the new playfield, replacing a couple worn items in the process. Now, I'm finished but the 1st fuse on the rectifier board (10A on the far left) blows when I power the machine on. Sounds are working, solenoids are working, and GI lighting seems to be working, but the feature/insert lighting is dead, pic is attached. I've gone over the wiring very carefully under the playfield several times now and cannot seem to find the culprit. If I remove the J1 (playfield) connector from the rectifier board and power the machine on, the fuse does not blow. It has to be something I did when swapping the playfield wiring but I'm just not seeing it. If I understand correctly, does the bare braided wire carry the current and the other connection to the board trigger the ground? Like I said, I'm new to the hobby so go easy on me. It worked great before the playfield swap so I'm sure it's something simple that I did wrong...my eyes are blurry after looking at these wires for so many hours. Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

20151214_020226.jpg20151214_020226.jpg

Promoted items from Pinside Marketplace and Pinside Shops!
Wanted
Machine - Wanted
Boston, MA
$ 12.00
Electronics
Yorktown Arcade Supply