Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 15 posts
  • 8 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 1 year ago by Spyderturbo007
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

1.jpg
    2.jpg
    3.jpg
    4.jpg
    5.jpg

#1 1 year ago

Hi, Second time poster. I have a Star Trek game I bought new about 2 years ago. I am a novice at fixing pinball machines.
    The left flipper started sticking recently (it gets stuck in the up position). I can usually hit the other flipper to unstick it. I tried a Teflon spray. It seemed to get better temporarily and then started sticking again. The game is in my home so I not a ton of use.

Any ideas?

Thanks!

#2 1 year ago

Well for one thing, you shouldn't ever need teflon spray for a flipper mech.

Check the coil sleeve, and the coil stop. It could also be a snagged return spring, but that's far less likely than the stop. Stern uses some really CRAP coil stops, and that's been the case for years. Good news is it's a cheap part designed to fail. Could also be that there was not enough play left in the flipper bat shaft, where the pawl grips it, and it's just now sticking because it's dirty and giving the least amount of resistance to bind up.

#3 1 year ago

You never want to use any type of lube on the game. It will just get gummed up and screw things up later.

Just to clarify, is it the flipper button that is sticking or does the button release?

Assuming it’s not the button, the first thing to do is see if it’s or mechanical or electrical. Play the game and when it happens, immediately turn off the game. If it says up, something is binding mechanically. If it drops, it’s electrical. I suspect it will stay up since you said lube helped.

Do you know how to open the game, remove the balls and raise the play field?